Community councils are statutory consultees in the planning system, and we are aware of the importance of this role. Due to the workload and timescales involved the planning committee typically meets at least twice each month (usually on the second and last Mondays of the month). The committee has delegated power to act (i.e. comment or formally object on planning matters) without waiting for ratification by the full community council. The committee's actions are reported to the full community council for confirmation.

The documents which the planning committee considers are mainly of three types:-

  1. Planning Applications. We consider major development applications for sites in and around St Andrews, applications for the two conservation areas in the town, and other applications of ‘public interest’ that are likely to affect life in St Andrews in some way.
  2. The Development Plan, which currently consists of the TAYplan and the 2012 St Andrews and East Fife Local Plan. The TAYplan replaced the Fife Structure Plan as the strategic plan for this area.
  3. Consultation documents produced by the Scottish Government.

Members: Penny Uprichard (convenor), Izzy Corbin, Nikki Dillon, Penelope Fraser, Ian Goudie, Judith Harding, Callum MacLeod and Greg Newman.

The minutes of the planning committee are either separately displayed on the Minutes page of this website, or appear as part of the Agenda for the next full meeting of the Community Council.